Skip to main content

Press Release

Appointments to Women's Commission

The Government today (January 12) announced the appointment of Ms Chan Yuen-han as the new Chairperson of the Women's Commission (WoC), as well as the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of four incumbent members to the WoC for a term of two years with effect from January 15, 2018.

The four new members are Ms Melaine Lee Kam-ha, Ms Michelle Tang Ming-sum, Miss Sherry Tsai Hiu-wai and Mrs Viola Wong Ho Suk-ying.

Ms Melaine Lee Kam-ha is the Principal of Maryknoll Convent School (Secondary Section). She is now a member of the Board of Control of the Grant Schools Provident Fund.

Ms Michelle Tang Ming-sum is a civil engineer and a member of the Yau Tsim Mong District Council. She is also a member of the Advisory Council on the Environment and the Lotteries Fund Advisory Committee.

Miss Sherry Tsai Hiu-wai is a former Hong Kong swimming team representative and is now a swimming coach. She is also an awardee of the Hong Kong Ten Outstanding Young Persons.

Mrs Viola Wong Ho Suk-ying had been working in managerial positions in enterprises. She now runs a charitable organisation, Benji's Centre, which provides specialised speech therapy to children with language problems from low-income families.

The four re-appointed incumbent members are Professor Shirley Hung Suet-lin, Ms Angelina Kwan, Ms Scarlett Pong Oi-lan and Dr Loletta So Kit-ying.

The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments. He said, "Ms Chan Yuen-han was a veteran member of the Legislative Council and District Councils. She has rich experience in the public sector. I trust that under Ms Chan's leadership, the WoC will continue its dedicated efforts in advancing the interests and development of women in Hong Kong.

"Coming from a diverse background, the newly appointed and re-appointed members have rich experience in their professions and community services. I hope that they will give valuable advice on the work of the WoC."

Dr Law also thanked the outgoing Chairperson, Mrs Stella Lau Kun Lai-kuen, and the three outgoing members, Ms Leona Lam Wai-ling, Mrs Miranda Leung Chan Che-ming and Ms Wong Shu-ming, for their active participation in and valuable contribution to the work of the WoC in the past years.

The WoC was set up on January 15, 2001, as a central mechanism to promote the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong. It plays a strategic role in advising the Government on policies and initiatives on women's issues.

Following is the membership list of the WoC with effect from January 15, 2018:

Non-official members

Ms Chan Yuen-han (Chairperson)
Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan
Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen
Ms Aruna Gurung
Professor Shirley Hung Suet-lin
Ms Angelina Kwan
Mrs Emily Tim-yi Lam Ho
Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang
Ms Melaine Lee Kam-ha
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man
Ms Yolanda Ng Yuen-ting
Ms Scarlett Pong Oi-lan
Dr Loletta So Kit-ying
Ms Michelle Tang Ming-sum
Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung
Miss Sherry Tsai Hiu-wai
Ms Wong Siu-wah
Mrs Viola Wong Ho Suk-ying
Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha
Ms Rabi Yim Chor-pik

Ex-officio members

Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (Vice-Chairperson)
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or representative
Director of Social Welfare or representative

Ends/Friday, January 12, 2018